On the 27th of October, we were planning to spend 1 hour in the swimming pool teaching the children how to swim, but due to the unfavorable conditions and thundering, we changed the plan and spent the time in the IT lab.

Since the thundering wasn’t all that severe, we were waiting by the pool for  a few minutes for the clouds to pass, but because the thundering continued, Avin and I changed the plan and decided to spend time in the IT lab. We showed our  initiative in leading this service project. 

In the IT lab, we got them to practice their typing skills with a software called Tux Typing. Since there were only 9 children today and we had 5 students, we each looked after 2 children. Since language was an issue for me, I collaborated with Ravin and Avin and they helped me to translate into Sinhalese. Although it was a challenge and a frustrating process due to language barrier, I showed my perseverance and commitment by trying to teach them about typing to the best of my ability without giving up. We didn’t simply let them play the games and activities, but we also thought them about the finger positions on the keyboard, which letter should be pressed by which letter and so on, so that they can learn the fundamentals to typing.

The plan for next week is to spend 1 hour in the swimming pool to teach them swimming.