On Friday the 4th of March, we went to the British School of Colombo to play badminton. Although we have 7 boys and 6 girls on the team, due to some people who were involved in the MUN and some people being absent, we only had 4 boys and 5 girls (however we somehow managed to play all the games which were planned).

We had 3 boys singles, 2 boys doubles, 3 girls singles, 2 girls doubles and 2 mixed doubles. For boys, we unfortunately lost all the matches, however for girls, we won 2 singles, both doubles, and we won 1 mixed doubles.

This was the first time we played badminton with people outside the school as a team (and first time I played badminton with people from other school) and it was indeed a great experience for me.

As we represented OSC, I made sure that everybody is behaving well and not acting on their own and creating a disorder. This was a challenge that I had undertaken as a leader. Unlike playing at our school, I felt that I had a lot more responsibilities. In addition, to make sure that everybody knows what they should be doing, I worked collaboratively, not only with Mr. De Silva and Mo, but with everybody else, informing what’s coming up next, what they should be doing etc.

Although we lost all the boys matches, I was fully committed to encourage the others as well as myself not to give up. After finishing all the matches, I felt that we have to show perseverance when playing matches with other schools (and when we lose), but at the same time, also be fully committed. This is our first badminton team at OSC and although we faced lots of difficulties, we had well undertaken the challenge with perseverance and commitment and we will continue to do so.

I hope that our team continues to develop as we practice more and play matches with other schools, the parents and the community.

Team photo

Boys Doubles

Boys Doubles 2

Boys Doubles 3