This year, we have our first badminton team in the school and I’ve been elected one of the leaders of this activity along with Mo. This will be one of my major Action in this semester.

The activity has started on the 15th of February and this will go on until the 26th of March. The plan is to practice the fundamental strokes and techniques badminton until the end of February, and have matches with other school in Colombo in March.

The members of this badminton team are;

Coach

  • Mr. De Silva

Boys

  • Uthpala
  • Karl
  • Rasmus
  • Devansh
  • Kwabena
  •  Sam
  • Myself

Girls

  • Mo
  • Tanya
  • Keiko
  • Vera
  • Georgia
  • Yuko

The schedule at training sessions will be divided into the following order:

  • Physical training
  • Practice of strokes play
  • Match practice (singles and doubles)

The training sessions will be held at the following times:

  • Tuesday 2:40 p.m to 4:15 p.m
  • Friday 2:40 p.m to 4:15 p.m
  • Saturday 10 a.m to 11:30 a.m

Goals:

As I’m the leader of this badminton team, I’d like to set some goals which I hope to achieve throughout the 6 weeks of training.

  • Undertake new challenge as a leader
  • Increase the awareness of my own strengths and areas for growth
  • Plan and initiate activities
  • Work collaboratively with others, especially with Mr. De Silva and Mo
  • Show perseverance and commitment
  • Develop new skills

Since 2 weeks have passed, I feel that I’m achieving most of these goals. First of all, I’m undertaking new challenge as one of the leaders of the first badminton team at OSC. Since I was and am also the student leader of the after school badminton, that has been helping me quite a lot. I believe that this challenge is the extension to leading the after school badminton.

As I’ve been practicing for the past 2 weeks, I feel that my strengths and areas for growth has become evident. In my opinion, my strengths are taking leadership in the team and making decisions. In terms of badminton, I believe that my strengths are the net play and serving. My areas for growth are to tell everybody clearly what to do, and to make everybody do what Mr. De Silva tells them to do, as some people aren’t following the instructions. In terms of badminton, I believe that my areas for growth are dropping and backhand strokes.

As for planning and initiating activity,  this is going well and by working collaboratively with Mr. De Silva and Mo, we haven’t faced big problems so far. I hope that this will continue throughout the team training.

I believe that I’ve already shown perseverance and commitment in this team training. I’ve been attending every session on time and taking responsibilities as a leader, such as clearing the rackets that people have left on the court and collecting the shuttles etc.

As for developing new skills, it’s not something that can be done within few practices (in terms of badminton and other things) and I hope to be able to develop various skills as we have more practices.