This monday (8th of November) was the second week of the after school badminton. Although everybody said they want to just play badminton for fun and relaxation, Mr. De Silva, Mo and I decided that we’ll still teach them something because we want them to learn more about badminton from this activity. However, it won’t be something serious and will be something very basic, such as how to hold the racquet properly, how to serve etc.

So today, we first split the students into 2 groups, so that Mo and I can teach them something for the first 20 minutes or so. Today I taught my group the proper way of holding the racket and the forehand/backhand short serve and forehand/backhand long serve.

I first showed them a demonstration so that they can get an idea of how to hold the racket and serve. After that, I’ve put them into pairs so that they can practice what I’ve taught them. As I’ve expected, most of them weren’t able to hold the racket properly and do the proper long and short serve but I hope that they’ve gained more knowledge and absorbed these techniques, as they are the fundamentals of badminton.

Next week, I’m planning to teach them how to hit a forehand overhead clear shot, as it is one of the basic badminton techniques. I’m not going to teach them the backhand overheard clear shot, as this is much harder and in addition, I personally haven’t mastered this technique yet.